Phil Ignatious from Oak Bridge Tennessee……writes Dear Hugh : Is it true that Tuba’s were invented by Emma Ginderiss’s Thursday night bridge club in 1836..in order to have a fancy-looking place to throw the scraps after an evening of “chowing down” around the card table? .

 

From Hugh

.

Now Phil…………….Please.  Tubas are dear to my heart. Always have been. My dear sweet mother used to play me obscure folks songs on an antique TUBA every night before I went to bed. From my earliest memories until I moved away from home at the age of 38….tuba folks songs (played with a lot of  emotion) were a part of my daily routine…..

.

I was raised near a TUBA factory. Played the TUBA in the key of eflat while sitting atop a flag pole to protest stuff back in the late 60’s……Please don’t mischaracterize the ignominious king of the brass woodwind world.

.

The Tuba was not invented by that bunch on Thursday night…………………..It was the Tuesday night canasta Club.


Leave a Reply

